Gary and Team Edge clinch win and championship

Latest News

Gary returns with 3hr endurance victory

Posted: 13-September-2014

After intensive treatment and only 112 days since Gary Johnson's crash in Superstock TT on 3rd June he finally made his return to racing alongside team owner, Nick Edgeley in Team Edge's 8th round of ACU National 600 Endurance Championship at Oulton Park earlier today.

Gary put the two bike team on pole position in 600cc class and 4th overall for the Le Mans start. Johnson showed his fellow competitors a clean pair of heals as he leaped on his Triumph Daytona 675R and led the whole field off the line. He set a blistering pace in front of the larger 100cc superbikes, immediately dropping down into lap times of 1m 43s and 1m 44s.

Although he tired towards the end of his 17 lap stint before handing over to Nick Edgeley 2 laps ahead of Van Hire Racing (Hartog/Liney) with championship rivals (Warren Verwey/Colin Norris) in 4th place.

Nick Edgeley rode at a consistent pace, averaging around 1m 49s and as this was only his second outing to the Cheshire circuit in 15 years, he was pleased with the consistent pace. During his 16 lap stint Nick increased the lead to 3 laps but saw Team move into 3rd place 13.470s behind Van Hire Racing.

Gary's middle ride saw him extend the team's lead again increasing the it to 5 laps which they maintained until the final 30 minutes of the 3 hour race.

Nick finished off the race, taking the chequered flag after completing 97 laps, a clear five laps ahead of Team, giving Team Edge 16 point championship lead with final round at Croft remaining.

Race Result

Pos No. Team Riders Time No. of Laps
1 61 Team Edge Racing Edgeley / Johnson 3:01:37.390 97
2 1 Team Norris / Verwey 3:00:52.610 92
3 247 Van Hire Racing Hartog / Liney 3:00:58.230 91
4 55 Spark Endurance Knoyle / Pike 3:01:51.960 88

Championship after Round 8

Pos No. Team Riders Points Behind
1 61 Team Edge Racing Edgeley / Johnson 177 0
2 1 Team Norris / Verwey 161 -16
3 247 Van Hire Racing Hartog / Liney 130 -44
4 8 Team Army 2 Morgan / Spencer-fleet 81 -71
5 999 Initiatec Racing Blundell / Harte 80 -72
6 60 Still Game Racing Butterworth / Muir 52 -100
7 39 Team Juniors Brown / Dalgarno / Paxton 45 -107
8 55 Spark Endurance Knoyle / Pike 44 -133
9 31 G.U.N. Racing Wilson / Wilson 40 -112
10 133 Endeavour Racing Fitton / Gaffney 32 -120